Ah’s and the rest of the quarter

Posted on 8 May 2008. Filed under: Class Notes, Questions |

From Week 5 comments:

Blogging Practicalities

  1. I want to continue learning about developing and maintaining an audience, especially outside of the classroom. For instances, how can I get my posts to show up in blog search engines? How do I cultivate a following?
  2. I would really like to know more of the design and layout aspects of blogging. I would like to continue my blog after class and it would be great if I could change the layout (besides the limited selection of backgrounds wordpress gives) and to strategically add pictures in posts.
  3. I would also like to know more about establishing and maintaining an efficient blog that can incorporate multimedia.
  4. I want to know about the most popular blogs out there right now with the maximum readers and the amount of time it takes for them to come to this level of popularity.

Online Journalism

  1. I want to learn how to pull together a news package story online, ie photographs, videos, slideshows, link combined with hard news reporting.
  2. I just hope to learn more about where blogs are going, how they are influencing politics in the U.S. and where my degree in journalism will fit.

Other Questions

  1. I want to learn about cookies. How they impact online advertising, how they threaten my privacy, and how I can “clear” my computers cookies.
  2. I would love by the end of the quarter to create a blog in which I can keep beyond this class.
  3. What I would like to learn lots more about philosophic theories about the world (especially related to communications and ethics) and how they are applied to the online universe… Jurgen Habermas’ idea of the public sphere or Plato’s ideas of philosopher-kings
  4. I would like to learn more about customizing, subscribing, and searching for topics that I have personal interest in.
  5. I would like to learn more corporate blogs and how they are being used to enhance business… I am curious at what sort of blogging skills companies are looking for in employees and what information I should include on my resume. Even just help with blogging lingo, key phrases or essential skills I should acquire for the “business blogging” world would be so helpful!
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

11 Responses to “Ah’s and the rest of the quarter”

RSS Feed for Social Technologies, Media and Politics Comments RSS Feed

Blogging practicalities – 4
Other – 5

Other questions:4
Blogging:1

Blogging Practicalities 1 and 4

Other questions – 4 and 5

Blogging Practicalities – 3
Other – 5

Blogging Practicalities: 3
Other: 1

Votes:
2. on Blogging Practicality
2. on Other questions

My vote:
I would really like to know more of the design and layout aspects of blogging. I would like to continue my blog after class and it would be great if I could change the layout (besides the limited selection of backgrounds wordpress gives) and to strategically add pictures in posts.

My vote:
Blogging practicalities 1 and 2

Other questions – 5
Blogging practicalities – 2

Thank you for your website 🙂
I made with photoshop backgrounds for youtube, myspace and even more
my backgrounds:http://tinyurl.com/6kw9wq
have a great day and thank you again!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

